Nowadays traffic is a big problem in big city is why this is so and what effect does it bring.

Experts throughout the developed world have debated over the issue of surging traffic levels in mega cities. With the gradual growth of society traffic has become a prominent difficulty. While there could be several possible reasons for it, still overdependence on personal vehicles is a salient cause. As a consequence of which a plethora of effects could be noticed such as over pollution and degraded lifestyle. To begin with, over preference of individuals towards their vehicles is one of the major cause of traffic congestion in metropolis. Even though there are developed public transport facilities, still people favour to use their own vehicles. This is because society has created so superficial standards where people generally tend to judge each other by their possessions. So assets have become a common method to evaluate a person’s abilities. Therefore, to show their higher standards individuals prefer to buy more and more latest cars and motorcycles. Even the latest survey of Harvard university has shown that 70% of urban people tend to buy those things which can surge their prestige in the society. In addition to this, it is often to notice that people buy vehicles more than their requirement. For example, generally people avoid carpooling and even members of same family run their individual cars, though their destination might be same. Consequently, when all such practices will happen then chances are enough to exceed the traffic levels. As a consequence of traffic congestion, a number of problems could be faced. Firstly, unhealthy atmosphere is a main and huge obstacle to live a good life. With the ejection of harmful gases from running vehicles the quality of air get degraded. Not only does it affect environment, but also impacts one’s health conditions. For instance, according to a survey of Oxford University there could be up to 80% of more chances of being affected with asthma if one had to live in degraded environment. Secondly, the standards of living in eminent towns lowers when traffic levels exceed their limits. Due to the traffic congestion, traffic jams could be a daily experience for the citizens. Therefore, every time whenever one had to go anywhere, one could expect the hustle to travel smoothly. Even the high noise levels also affects the work of residents. Even if traffic is a problem of when on the roads, still the unlimited noise of horns and a motor engines disturbs the local residents. Especially the students suffer a lot who become unable to concentrate on their studies due to unpleasant and loud sound of traffic. So these are the some difficulties provided by the traffic congestion. From the given arguments and examples, it is clear that increasing traffic is a grievous problem. It can arise due to several reasons such as over use of personal cars and could result into major detrimental effects of pollution and lowered standards of living. Therefore, traffic should be avoided in big cities.