Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate on the merits of having a university degree. This essay will discuss a main advantages and disadvantages of having a college diploma.

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate on the merits of having a university degree. This essay will discuss a main advantages and disadvantages of having a college diploma. On the on hand, the major benefits of having a university degree is that people may have not faced with job searching problems. This is clear that those who has not any degrees has lower opportunities with hitting a job, than those who has any equivalent similar to college diploma. For instance, investigation of AARP bulletin has demonstrated that 60 percentage of non-degree employees at least once experienced rejection from certain companies that they were applying for job opening even if they have a professional experience or internship. On the other hand, the primary drawbacks of having a university diploma is that the individuals need to spend four or even five years on one specialty, which is, in turn, irrational time spending consider this rapidly developing society. Moreover, they could attend six or nine month course or internship and expand their skills in one filed instead. To give an example, Anders Erikson a psychologist from Berlin conducted a study which has illustrated that 10 000 hours, which is approximately 13 month, is enough to become a professional in one major. To conclude, having a university degree offers to individuals a prospective not to struggle with job searching sophistications. However, it has considerable disadvantages as a long-term study, which is not properly established time management system at universities.