Nowadays there is a wide range of TV programs. But instead of watching educational programs, news or documentary films, more and more people prefer to watch TV shows, soap operas or serials. And this negatively affects knowledge acquisition skills. What are the primary causes of this tendency? How is it possible to make educational TV programs more popular?

A large variety of TV programs are available these days. However, the popularity of entertaining shows is much more than the informational ones. This essay will examine two main causes of this trend and also present two possible solutions. The two main causes of more popularity of entertaining shows are busy lives of people and tedious plot of educational broadcasts. First, modern life, indisputably, is hectic and busy; consequently, nobody is willing to learn something after working all day. Instead, they chose to watch something funny or interesting, with twists and turns, to relax. For example, fiction and comedy series get the most number of views on youtube in Canada. Additionally, the educational programs are made in such a dull and boring screenplay that viewers do not find it interesting, which contributes to the lack of following for such shows. A possible solution to solve this problem is making documentaries or other informational shows interesting by adding an entertaining element to them. This can be done by either making those participative; for example, educational game shows, having two-way communication, or inviting celebrities to educational shows, which will draw the attention of youngsters. For example, some Bollywood stars host quiz shows in India, and these shows are as popular as any other. So if these initiatives are taken, educational shows can become famous. To conclude, while entertaining shows will always remain more popular than educational shows; however, the number of viewers watching informational shows can be increased considerably by making them intriguing.