Nowadays, there has been a rise in the number of nuclear families as compared to the extended families. While having a small family can be beneficial in many ways such as financial stability and access to better and quality education, the

Nowadays, there has been a rise in the number of nuclear families as compared to the extended families. While having a small family can be beneficial in many ways such as financial stability and access to better and quality education, there are some considerable drawback. Nuclear family on the one hand makes it easier for the household to achieve a better and a more sustainable financial stability as a result of the number of people to be catered for. For instance, In a small family where both parent work, they are able to provide all the support and luxuries their family requires and able to save funds while planning for their future needs. Also, having this type of family will allow the parent to provide a high standard education for the kids because the increasing cost of quality education has made it difficult for a medium income earner to afford. Therefore, a family with small members would be able to save more money and provide this for their kids. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to having a small sized family such as having a small support system. In emergency situations such as an accident or even in the time of illness, it becomes increasingly difficult to meet the family’s expectations and needs especially in instances where both are working and have young children to look after. In conclusion, while it can be advantageous to have a small household because of its less financial stress and access to qualitative education, having a small support group can serve as a major drawback.