Which of the two do you consider more important: security or freedom and independence?

Nowadays, due to the advancement of our society, the career choices for individuals are unlimited. But, this arises the question as to what each person will pick for his future. Will he choose the easy and secure way, or the option that allows them to be independent and free? In my opinion, they must follow their passion, although in this essay, I will discuss both views. Firstly, in order to have a standard and secure career, you do not give yourself the opportunity to unlock your full potential, limiting your future prospects. Moreover, this choice of activity, can have negative consequences on your mental health. To illustrate, from my own experience, working in my father’s restaurant, because it’s a sure job, I feel undervalued and oppressed. In contrast, taking the chance of a job you truly desire, can offer you a happier life. By taking the risk of a course you want, you give yourself the chance to prosper and to significantly broaden your horizons. Therefore, you take advantage of your capabilities and are a step closer to a mentally and physically, balanced growth. For example, the University of Cambridge surveyed UK workers and found out that, people that like their job in contrast to one’s that don’t, are 40% happier about their life. Finally, the only drawback regarding this, is the risk of not succeeding. Taking everything into consideration, picking a career is a difficult choice for all of us. But, one should consider his happiness and personal development, rather than an easy road which may lead to an unpleasant future.