Nowadays there are more and more people leaving their villages in order to live in the big city. What are the reasons for this and what are the consequences?

In this day and age, there are an increasing number of people who are moving to large metropolis in hope of a better future. This essay will discuss several factors and some of the repercussions of migration from rural areas to urban areas. The compelling reason for urban sprawl is the vast opportunities of jobs in metropolitan areas. Many industries are located in the cities and offer many opportunities for high urban wages. On the contrary, the job shortage in rural areas would force people to do a job which could not suit their abilities and interests at all. As a result, big cities would act as a magnet for rural people in the lookout for a high-paying job and a good living. Moreover, the urban society provides great basic amenities necessary for leading a decent life. Cities provide indispensable services for an improved quality of life, such as better medical treatments, qualified doctors and better educational institutions, which, in most rural areas, are absent or inadequate. However, with a huge influx of people into inner-city areas, this may contribute to some major adverse consequences. One of the main problems is housing issues. A surge in house demands would result in soaring real estate prices. Secondly, an increasing number of rural people leaving their hometown behind to settle down in big cities would mean constant pressure on traffic infrastructure and therefore traffic congestion. This not only raises the stress and fatigue levels of residents but also lowers work productivity. In conclusion, people are moving to large metropolises in the hope of a better future. Nevertheless, this could impose burdens on big cities and the society, so people should take the consequences into serious consideration before making a decision to move.