Discipline is ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some think discipline should be the responsibility of teachers

In recent times, order in children by our educational system is proving more difficult. Many people agree that tutors at school should be held accountable. While I agree with this notion, I believe teaching is not the sole responsibility of teachers alone. On the one hand, the school environment is made for learning purposes which include not only academics but indoctrinating values in the life of school children. For instance, children are taught the cause and effect of negative actions by way of detention when they break school rules. They are also trained to be responsible and accountable by giving assignments and projects with deadlines. On the other hand, the family unit is the oldest known institution for learning. Attributes like respect, tolerance and appreciation are often picked up from members of the family. For example, if an individual is exposed to violence and bullying at home, they are likely to become violent to fellow classmates. In a research conducted in one of Nigeria’s correctional center in 2003, 73% of juvenile crimes were committed by adolescents who had a history of domestic abuse. In conclusion, while both institutions have active roles in shaping an individual, it’s is evident that training should not solely be the duty of school teachers but also involve parents and guardians because while tutors have a limited amount of time during school hours, parents spend more time with children at home and on holidays.