Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changes because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technological advancement has made significant impact on the way the society interact and communicate with each other. Although it has improved the quality of communication and relationship among people, it has caused some detrimental effect on the society. On one hand, revolution in technology has connected the world closer with no geographical barriers. One can make affordable or free voice and video calls to friends, relatives and colleagues. Thus, strengthening the bond among people. For instance, ZOOM meetings, WhatsApp and other social connecting apps have provided an efficient way of communication to the world during the COVID 19 pandemic. Similarly, nowadays people around the globe interact with each other freely and easily while chatting on various social networking platforms. They explore, search and make new relationships with like-minded people. On the contrary, technology has few adverse effects on individual’s life especially on younger generation. Teenagers are more engaged in gadgets and virtual world instead of interacting with the people in their immediate surroundings. Consequently, it reduces face-to-face interaction that leads to increase the communication gap among families and it also decrease the confidence level of youngsters in conveying their thoughts and speech within large group of people. Moreover, individual are now having sedentary lifestyle owing to continuous involvement in technological appliances. For example, according to a survey it has been observed that the obesity ratio has markedly raised within last 20 years. In conclusion, despite the negative effects of the digital era, it has more benefits on the society by connecting the world closer and enhancing the way of communication.