Every government has a duty to provide free health care for its people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of government providing free healthcare?

Every citizen has a right to receive free medical care which is supported by their government. This can have both positive and negative implications. There are several advantages which can be reaped from free health care, the most important of which are the increase in the number of treated patients and the reduction of disease outbreaks. As the former, medical services and treatments are quite costly and the majority of the people, especially the poor, cannot afford it. In fact, expensive health care costs being from prescription charges and treatment costs prevent a great number of these people from meeting doctors to treat minor diseases. In this way, most people having a low income in a society can suffer from their diseases for a long time, which certainly makes them be worse. The government, therefore, has to intervene and make the health care affordable for all and provide free services for poor citizens. Another benefit could be that the spread of disease is possibly controlled by providing free medical services and bringing people under the umbrella at the quality treatment. A great deal of people tends to make an appointment to see the doctor on a regular basis, which leads to the fact that a health condition probably is much better recovery. In other words, some epidemics are no longer spread among the population. Despite the aforementioned benefits, free medical services can have several downsides, which are worth being considered. One of the main issues is that supporting free treatment for all requires a huge budget, which is exceedingly difficult for the government in poor and developing countries to manage it. The state budget of these nations often accounts for economic development as a priority; hence, a huge investment in medical services apparently increases the risk of the economy and other fields. In addition, the lack of doctors and trained nurses can have a detrimental effect on the quality of medical health care. In fact, there is a dramatic decrease in the number of successful treatments since hospitals and medical centers frequently overload with patients. For instance, a doctor has to meet and take care of a large number of patients, which results in a plunge of the concentration and productivity of medical staff. This poses a threat to the treatments of patients and these people seem to be tired due to a long waiting time to see doctors for treatments. In conclusion, while free health care services can be beneficial, it also has several drawbacks.