People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems.

Environmental pollution has been one of the major concerns in today’s society. As a result, protecting the ecosystem has become the authorities’ top priority recently. While many people believe that raising the taxes on petrol is one of the most effective ways for solving these problems, I would argue that other solutions have even greater impacts. It is true that if the price of fuel is increased, individuals will start to use their cars less often, and therefore, the rate of air pollution may decrease. This is because there will be a reduction in the amount of carbon dioxide emitted by cars and other vehicles on the roads. However, in some countries lacking developed public transport systems, their citizens will continue to travel by private cars. This means if the petrol price is increased, they will have a smaller budget for other eco- friendly products, such as solar panels and biodegradable packaging. It has been shown that the amount of air and other pollutions reduced through consistent usage of eco-friendly products is more significant than the polution emitted by cars and trucks in Australia. Hence, I strongly believe that there are more effective ways to tackle environmental problems than increasing the cost of fuel. Firstly, the government can increase the import tariffs on private cars and introduce a congestion charge on all vehicles visiting the city centre. The money obtained can be used to improve public transport infrastructure. This measure not only helps the authorities minimise the number of private cars coming into the country, but also encourages and enhances the use of public transportation. Secondly, the government should offer special rebates to people who purchase or use renewable energy such as water, wind and solar energy. This will encourage the citizens to use green energy resources, rather than non-renewable energy resources such as petrol and coal. In conclusion, even though raising petrol price will reduce the usage of cars and other vehicles, it will cannibalise on other efforts to reduce environmental pollution. A more effective solution for this issue is to introduce policies including higher tariff on imported cars and congestion charges on vehicles entering certain congestion zones. This strategy will raise sufficient revenue to upgrade public transport systems and invest in clean energy.