nowadays, the number of students who spend time away from school living overseas or gaining some other valuable experience before attending college is increasing.

It is thought by some people that nowadays, the number of students who spend time away from school living overseas or gaining some other valuable experience before attending college is increasing. There are some merits and demerits of making this choice. On one hand, it is clear that this option would bring about several benefits. One evident strength is that it would reduce the stress when living abroad. In other words, after an important University entrance exam, the students need to be stressed out so they will find somewhere to enjoy themselves before attending college. Another reason is that it would help the students know more about the cultures of different countries. In fact, before going to a university, gaining more practical experience is critical for them to improve themselves and confidently go to school. On the other hand, there are some obvious drawbacks that would arise. First, some teenagers may become addicted to the pastime. It means that, when being hooked on these things, the teenagers will be disturbed from studying. Second, especially curious teenagers, will get attracted to the luxury lifestyle. In particular, when being attracted by this lavish style of living, they will have unhealthy habits and ignore studying. Also, when they return school, they will have more difficulties concentrating. In conclusion, there are plus points to going abroad and taking a gap year in term of reducing stress and improving knowledge. However, the downside would emerge as a result of being addicted to pastime and lavish lifestyle.