Nowadays, the mobile phone plays a major role in our lives, which brings many benefits to us but also contains some drawbacks. Both these sides will discussed in this essay.

In recent times, the mobile phone has increasingly become huge part of daily living, and as such many have argued that though the advantages are beneficial, they are drawbacks. These opposing arguments would be explained in this essay. On the one hand, communication has been made very easy with the rapid growth in the use of the mobile telecommunications. For instance, sending urgent and important messages across to family/friends can be easily done by placing a call to them or sending a text message. Unlike the days of old, where a letter would have been sent via the post office and people having to wait till the letter was delivered to get the message. Therefore communication has been made easy and convenient through this. On the other hand, the surge in the use of mobile devices has made people addicted and constantly on it. For instance, the average person cannot be without their phone for a whole day without panicking, this means more time is being spent looking into the screen, as opposed to spending time with their family and friends. To this end, the constant need to be online has proven to be a disadvantage to the use of it. Also, it has been stated that constant usage can be of negative impact on the eyesight, an example is people often set their eyes on the mobile phone, which can pose danger to the eyes in the long run. In conclusion, it is with no doubt that the spike in the rapid usage of mobile devices has major merits in our lives, the drawbacks are present and should not be ignored.