Some say that watching television among children has detrimental effects on their growth while others say otherwise.

Watching television has been common among children nowadays. They are glued for a long time every day on the TV screens due to their favourite programs. While some say that this has a detrimental effect on their growth, I personally believe that watching TV among children can be beneficial provided they are guided with the right programs by their parents. The reason why some individuals believe that watching TV among children may have a bad effect on their development lies on the fact that some television shows are not appropriate for their age. There are scenes of violence, crime, drama, and sex that can poison children’s mind and behaviour. When they see these acts on TV they may consider it as a normal act and acceptable in the society. Harmful effects of these scenes among children are very evident in a survey that was conducted by ‘GobalTV. Org’. Sixty percent of children who are violent learned their acts on television and was not guided properly when they are watching. Although, there are some TV scenes that are not suitable for children, there are tons of TV shows that are appropriate to them. Parents should guide them on programs that they watch, and as much as possible they must be with them when they are watching. A good example of these are national geographic and cartoon network. Such programs are not only educational, but also entertaining. There are also shows which promote healthy living, good moral and behaviour, such shows helps the development of children mentally and physically. For example, Batibot, a well known TV program in the Philippines, has a segment that teaches how to gain friends through exercise and sports. Watching correct TV programs among children is truly beneficial to them. In conclusion, watching television could have a positive and negative effect on youngster’s development. It is my strong conviction that if the children’s guardian or parents guide them on the right programs to watch, it will help them in their growth and development.