Nowadays teenagers mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. What are the reasons for this? How can parents cope with this issue?

It is visible that the young generation nowadays spends most of their time playing online games instead of outdoor sports. I believe that the primary cause of this is urbanization, and supported by modernization. In the past few years, the number of people moving from rural to urban areas has skyrocketed. This causes grasslands, which were previously utilized for public parks, are used for making homes and business complexes. As a consequence, children prefer to play online games instead, because they can play them with their friends anytime, anywhere they want. Another reason is that as the population grows, living in the society becomes very competitive, thus making adults work harder which results in them not able to allocate enough time to their offsprings. This is an adverse development because not many skills are acquirable through online games. Children still need to have physical interaction to develop crucial skills such as leadership, teamwork, decision making, and many more. However, there is no problem without a solution. Parents can deal with this by limiting the time children play online games and communicate with them more. Parents can also utilize the internet to do sports at home with their kids, thus fulfilling the need for physical exercise. To conclude, children prefer to play online games more because of the lack of physical space available, however, this greatly hinders the development of crucial skills for the children. Parents can prevent this by giving their kids more attention, and help their development by communicating with them.