nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing for example through cellphone and cameras. do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Recent technological advancements have enabled the government, the police, and privately owned agencies to continuously keep the public under surveillance. In major cities and towns street cameras record every bit of movement. Whenever a call is made from a handset, the call is logged, so the service providers know exactly when and where the user made the call. Unseen satellites orbit the earth, and keep a check on us whether we like it or not. Is this, however, a development we should welcome or not. Certainly, this technology has several benefits which could not be ignored. Strict monitoring deters the crime rate in high crime rate areas. A thief will think twice to break into a camera monitored building or mall. Even after an accident or a crime, recordings of these devices can help to evaluate the circumstances and pieces of evidence. Furthermore, in the case of a missing person, police rely on a call log to trace the whereabouts of the suspect and victims. On the other hand, there are some concerns about its unlimited and unethical uses. In countries where human rights are ignored, such devices will add to public control. The nation should be allowed to conduct meetings and hold its opinion against the government’s unjustified policies. Secondly, privacy concerns are high among people. People post their photos and information on social media more frequently, regardless of the fact, this information can be captured and misused by other parties and sites owner very easily for their financial gains. To summarize, technological advances are easing human lives and there will be more and more ways to monitor society. However, we have to analyze whether it will do more harm than good. Surely our freedom is more valuable than technology.