In the present times, obesity has become a leading disease that has plagued large number of people. This essay describes the causes and effects of obesity.

I believe that obesity has numerous causes. Firstly, inactive lifestyle and consumption of junk and fast foods are leading causes of obesity. A sharp decline in physical activities at workplace and relying on various developed transportation methods. These activities result in fat accumulation and burning fewer calories. Moreover, the problem of obesity is heightened by traumatic psychological disorders as well. For example: Overweight children had self-esteem issues that prevailed even when they grew up as adults and had to seek professional help for their issues. The established effects of obesity are increased health issues and loss of acceptance in society. Mostly, obesity increases the chance of life threatening diseases. For example, overweight people are faced with diabetes, high level cholesterol and also greatly increases the risks of strokes. Moreover, since overweight people are bigger in size they often face discrimination and are the target of a joke in a group. This leads to depression and anxiety being in society. For example, overweight people often find it difficult to find clothes of their size in stores and are often ridiculed or ogled weirdly by store employees and shoppers. This makes them upset and depressed. To sum up, Obesity has become a leading diseases amongst people in society. The causes for Obesity are inactive lifestyle and consuming high calories food. However, these causes affect overweight people by causing health issues and psychological problems as well.