Nowadays shops have extended opening hours almost every day of the week in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development for shoppers and local community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent times, all over the world, shops’ working hours have been noticeably increased throughout the week. In my opinion, it is a positive trend as it boosts economy by increasing the financial turnover, and equally beneficial for customers as they can have greater access to goods and services at their own convenient time. To start with, one of the various benefits stores provide when it facilitates round the clock is employment opportunities for residents. In addition, the companies themselves will also gain because it will bring more business. To illustrate, if a store runs 24 hours, they need more workforce to serve customers and other related work, and thus generate jobs openings for local communal. Moreover, elevation in business results in increased revenue, consequently, the owner needs to pay more tax to the government which becomes the source for improving the economy of the state.