Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, it is acknowledged the fact that electronic currency, such as credit and debit cards are gaining more popularity among consumers than paper money and coins. This essay will discuss both perspectives and reach a conclusion view. On the one hand, those who agree the opinion that using electronic cash is more useful, believe that this method has various benefits. Undoubtedly, a credit or a debit card permits to the consumers for purchasing the items and facilities of their choice, every time or everywhere they need, even though they are having less or no cash in the wallet. Additionally, plastic money has a global acceptance. This means that if someone went abroad, that person could use with great ease the debit card for example to a restaurant or for shopping. Therefore, they do not waste their time waiting for change. On the other hand, those who are opposite of this approach, think that this trend comes with negative aspects. It is known that the plastic cards frequency are responsible for impulsive shopping habits of people. They encourage people to spend more money than they are allowed to buy seeing especially diverse shopping sites, and also, buying items what they do not need. Moreover, there are some small vendors who do not possess POS machines and individuals must pay only payable by cash. If someone wants to purchase something from a small shop or newsstand, they cannot pay by card and they should withdraw money from an ATM. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages aspects of traditional banking system, it seems to me that electronic currency is more request in almost every country.