27/10/2017 Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Include your personal opinion and examples based on your own experie

There is no doubt that the population of metropolitan cities all over the world are soaring day by day and it causes countless problems in the cities such as air pollution and higher accommodation prices. However, the possible solutions to resolve these issues for the individual and government is to use public transport and create more job opportunities respectively. One of the fundamental issues arise from big cities due to overpopulation is air pollution. To elucidate, the majority of people today tend to have a personal car in order to commute to the office on time, which increases heavy traffic on the roads. Cars run on fossil fuels and it emits hazardous pollutants in the air, which causes air pollution. Similarly, there are many industries in the urban areas which release harmful chemicals in the atmosphere, which give rise to air pollution. For example, a study by the BBC News in April 2019 reported that there has been a 20% increase in the demand for cars last years, which resulted in a deleterious impact on the earth’s environment. Another problem is the high accommodation price. Many people migrate from rural to urban areas to have a good job prospect and to provide better education to their children. As a result, these areas get overpopulated and landlords often take advantage of this by charging an exorbitant cost for accommodation. The possible solution for individuals to tackle this problem would be the use of public transport. If most people switch to public transportation rather than using own car to commute to the office, undeniably, there will be a decrease in air pollution to a certain extent. For example, in Japan, many people started using the car pooling system for commuting from home to work, which resulted in the reduction of air pollution by 25%. Another solution for the government is to create jobs for people. If the government develops rural areas by encouraging industrialists to open more factories in rural areas, this will create more jobs over there. As a result, people seem to be less inclined to come to the cities. In conclusion, air pollution and high accommodation price are very common problems which stem from urban areas owing to overpopulate. Only when the government develops rural areas and create jobs and an individual use public transport, will the problem be tackled.