Nowadays a few people take their family with them abroad whenever they go on a business trip. Is it a positive or negative development in your opinion?

There is an ongoing trend of including families while going on an official visit to foreign countries. I believe it is a negative development and organizations should be cautious in dealing such situations. This essay will discuss how presence of household aids in attaining equilibrium between work and life and possible mishandling of information along with relevant examples to support the points. There is ample evidence indicating the benefit of having family on business trip. The central reason for this is, it allows employees to maintain a certain work-life balance. Corporate jobs leave very little time for individuals to spend with their family and friends. This is because of ever increasing competition at office and striving to climb up the hierarchy. Nevertheless, allowing staff to invite their families on work trips, allowing them to spend some quality time at a changed location will de-stress and rejuvenate the personnel when they report back to job. To illustrate this, an internal test report conducted by the IHR has observed that there is a 20% increased productivity in employees who returned with families versus a decreased 10% productivity in others. Therefore it is conclusively clear that it serves multipurpose when families are taken along. Although there is a case for healthy work-life balance the threat to sensitive information cannot be understated. The employees usually possess confidential material such as price quotations of bids, financials of the company, etc whilst touring on business purposes. In addition to this, there is a risk of information leak with family and kids around which can be advantageous to competitors. For instance, the recent unsuccessful attempt by WIPRO in acquiring a firm in Ireland is due to competitor quoting a lower price. Upon investigation, it has been observed that the information was accidentally revealed by the spouse of an official at a restaurant. Thus it possible to state that there is a potential threat to company’s information when families are taken along. To sum it up, in my view despite the benefits of increased performance on return and balanced lifestyle, the drawbacks such as the cost of risking the information to competitors eclipses the advantages of having employee’s immediate household around on official visits.