Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Today, many people consume enormous amounts of food and this average increasing significantly each year. The two main reasons for this problem are people’s intensive purchasing habits and media manipulation. This essay will elucidate, discuss about given issue and try to give appropriate solutions. First and foremost, food waste is one of the biggest environmental and industrial problem in the current time. Almost 1/3 of all food in the world produced for consumption never gets eaten. Food goes to waste on the farms, in transit, restaurants and homes. This means that more than 15% of produced food discarded at every point of the food chain before went on our plate. Markets and consumers throwing away all the products, which undergo spoilage or expiration. At the same time, people tend to purchase unnecessary products, which leads to wastage. The reason for that actions is that society become wealthier than before and possessed with access to buy a various type of food. Secondly, the food industry has been developing fast, with a variety of choices and marketing ways to increasing food consumption. Advertising on television or online media is directed to triggering a sense of starving through a wide range of delicious food’s pictures or videos. As the result, food waste drives to climate changing and decomposition lead to greenhouse gases, which became 80 times powerful than carbon dioxide. To solve this trouble the government, must uplift the awareness in society about the consequences of food overconsumption to the environment. In addition, step up eco-friendly campaigns, which will promote different ways of recycling or reducing waste via posters, social media, or television programs. Furthermore, heavy tax should impose on the food industry, which may cause a rise in food cost to deter people buy more. In conclusion, humans throw away food in significant quantities every day, which lead to several environmental disasters. To mitigate the problem the government should take action in informing people and introducing money taxes.