Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In the current scenario, the highest amount of food waste by the people occurs mostly when the food is purchased from shops and restaurants. There are various reasons contributing to wastage of food and it is highly important to establish measures to reduce food wastage as it could result to food scarcity. One of the common cause for wastage of food is durability. The perishable goods such as vegetable and fruits are suitable for immediate consumption and when not consumed on the prescribed timeframe could therefore lead to food degradation. The food cannot be consumed anymore as the nutritive value is significantly low and cause serious health issues and therefore has to disposed. In case the food is purchased from the restaurant, the quality of food and taste of food plays an essential role to the buyer. If the taste buds of the ordered dish is distasteful or not favorable to the consumer they tend to throw it away. In these scenarios, the food contributes to unnecessary wastage. the most effective way to reduce food wastage is that the there must be storage facility of food. The perishable food can be stored in a certain temperature that does not compromise the quality of the food. As a result, the temperature can influence the food to stay fresh and can be consumed as per the consumer’s preference. Another way to reduce food wastage is to preserve the food. Presently, the vegetable and fruits are stored and preserved forms using the methods of pickling and curing. Such preserved foods are proven by the scientist to promote good gut health and overall can reduce wastage as they can be stored for a longer period of time and consumption does not affect the health. To conclude, with adequate measures proposed by scientist and government can help one be responsible and conscious about the wastage of food. Overall, decrease in wastage of wood can contribute to equal distribution of food that minimize food scarcity.