Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In some parts of the world, food is still highly valued. In urban areas, however, particularly in developed world, food waste is becoming a major concern. This essay will examine the cause of this problem and suggest ways that people can curb the amount that they discard. Two main factors are behind the rise in food waste. The first is the rising incomes of the population, which has meant higher disposable income. In other words, whereas 50 years ago, the average family had around $ 50 per month to spend on food and entertainment, now the figure is more likely $ 2000, and so the idea of buying something and not consuming it is unremarkable. The second factor, linked to the first, is modern throw – away culture in which all products are treated as disposable. Since it is not uncommon to find valuable household items throw in the bin, it is also unsurprising to see half the family is groceries binned without concern. Tackling this issue involves altering the public’s mindset. This needs to happen via awareness – raising campaigns. The ABC, for instance, launched one such initiative with the war on waste TV series and website in 2016, which presented troubling facts on the effects of our consumption and waste. Given the profound impact of this series on the Australian public, it would be worth expanding it on a global scale. In addition to warning people about the environmental impact of food wastage such projects could also educate them better on practical matter such as shopping center and storing food correctly. In conclusion, unless efforts are made to shift the public consciousness, this problem will only escalate. Which governments have a critical role to play, individuals too need to take responsibility for their shopping habit in order to cut down on wasted food.