Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has evolved rapidly since its emergence in daily life of people across the globe. People use social media for staying in touch with others and for real time updates around the world on the click of a button. Though use of social platform has many advantages, it has many negative effects too. However advantages outweigh disadvantages in many ways. Primarily, people are now habituated to use various applications such as Facebook, WhatsApp, Snapchat etc to stay in contact even if they haven’t met since ages. Furthermore, such platforms give them access to stay connected more comfortably by video calling or snap chatting which gives them ease to stay in touch. Secondly, some age group especially people above 25 years use some apps for getting daily updates around the world. On a top of that, this is more effective way as they can access news while commuting, walking, driving and can save time by hearing it online. Additionally, some of them also watch live cricket or football matches on some apps to stay updated with sports. However, excess use of such applications consumes time and can be harmful for our body. Also, people may get lazy to go out if they are heavily indulged in their mobile phones or laptops. For instance, teenage people may over use such platform by using it all day long and may get distracted from studies. Thus, as per my opinion advantages outweigh disadvantages and if such platforms are handled duly it can be very beneficial.