Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Social media plays pivotal role in today's competitive world in spreading news and keep in touch with loved ones across world. From villages to cities everyone started using social media. I believe that there are plenthora of advantages in using social media comparison with the disadvantages. To embark on, social media plays very important role in everyones lives now. Firstly, it helps people from different part of the world to stay connected. For instance, during jallikattu protest in tamilnadu, people across the globe gave their support. This would have not been possible without social media. Same happens with the nirbaya sexual abuse case also. Secondly, news spreads easily worldwide with the help of social media. For example, before social media arrives, we all depends on newspapers and news channels to get upto date information but with the help of this we can get news from all over the world. social media not only helps to get news easily but also to allow people to raise voice against or oppose it. Although there are some disadvantages in using them. To say, some people started using this platform negatively by posting fake information about a person or a government or a country. whats more, it also make people lazy. Few prefer to connect with people across the world than with their own family. To sum up, eventhough there are some disadvantages in using social media which can be neglected by taking necessary actions. I believe that the advantages of them are significant.