Nowadays, people spend more and more time away from their family. Why? What effect will it have on themselves and their family?

Change is the constant of life. The emergence of the Technology Revolution has proven the statement by entailing a remarkable amount of advancements that move human civilization to the upper level. Such developments, however, come at the expense of a consistently restricted time frame reserved for family. Considering the temporary society, it can be deduced that the desire for prospective career developments and a strengthened sense of independence are behind the phenomenon, which simultaneously brings merits and drawbacks. On the one hand, opportunities for studying and occupation have undoubtedly transcended the walls of cultural geographic differences. Previous decades witnessed the uphill obstacles regarding transportation, authorization as well as the costly tuition for entrance to a foreign university. Meanwhile, a potential employee would rather seek a position in a company within his house’ vicinity for easy commuting. Yet, none remains the same in the 21 century, when airplanes become affordable for the average class and international diplomacy opens the door for cross-border business. A Vietnamese, for instance, is presented with an unprecedentedly wide range of academic institutions for tertiary education: from local colleges to the university in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City and the ones in England. It is noteworthy that scholarships for international students are available year round. On the other hand, emerging generations are nurtured in a society that promotes independence. A standard design of a house is supposed to include the construction of a private room for children, who are encouraged to sleep on their own at an incredibly young age. With the wide scope of chances provided, they continue to be incentivized to establish financial independence at the point of 18 years old. Such culture has led to the ubiquitous view that an individual co-living with their parents when they have entered university is reasonably subjected to humiliation. Hence, Amy would be packing her suitcase to move into the dormitory as soon as the letter of university admission reaches her. Accompanying this development are advantages in terms of incomes and broadened social circles as well as disadvantages concerning the loss of connection with family. The evident shift of priority to major and career has highlighted a notably sharpened specialization. Should one be successful in proving their abilities, a stable and fluid flow of income will invariably follow. The generally heightened living standard is a crystal-clear illustration. Exceeding the threshold of nation, furthermore, means the appearance of bonds with individuals from a wide scope of backgrounds, who are likely to be business counterparts and even reliable friends. However, time dedicated to other social aspects can be interpreted to time taken away from family. Yet, it is family members who can generate the strongest emotional support. As the sparkling light of offices fading and the noise of life hustle disappearing, home is bright with light from the warm kitchen. In conclusion, the pursuit of favorable study and career chances as well as the embedded norm of early self-establishment have resulted in an accelerating lack of gathering moments with family. While financial security and social relationships nominate this trend, it seems that the family connection, a rich source of mental support, is weakened.