Nowadays, people of all ages from certain parts of the world spend most time at home rather than going outdoors. Discuss the reasons, is this negative or positive development?

An increasing number of people stay at home these days. Although this can be caused by many personal reasons, in most cases, it is the recent advancement in technology that underlies such behaviour, shaking the previous norms of socialization. Spending the most of the time at home as a result of digitalization. Technology in today’s world has resulted in ways of being that could never have been imagined. Being digitally connected, people no longer have to step outside to explore the outside world to seek education, job opportunities or socialization as it can all be done from one’s desk. This drastic change is most evident from early childhood. When looking at the young generation they no longer spend hours riding bikes, camping in the backyard or constructing houses on trees. In stark contrast, today’s children are spending on average, 8 hours a day on the Internet, playing online games or just scrolling through social media. To realize implications of staying inside, one needs to step back to observe what people are missing out by staying indoors. One such danger is the limited face-to-face communication, which being glued to devices may cause, affecting social interaction and bonding. On a positive note, this has opened the way to transcend geographical distances in communication, which we are grappling with understanding the best way to utilize. On balance, studies are showing a decline in social skills. Another consequence tied to spending time indoors is the increased risk of obesity such a sedentary lifestyle poses. It is time spent outdoors that provides people with essential natural physical activity, thus lowering the chance of gaining weight and suffering associated chronic diseases, such as hypertension and cardio vascular diseases. In conclusion, spending most time at home interacting with one’s devices rather than going outdoors to communicate face-to-face might have a profound negative effect on socialization and physical well-being of those staying at their homes.