Nowadays people live longer after they retire. How does this affect individuals and society? What can be done about this?

The more dramatic average life expectancy is increasing, the longer people live after retirement. This trend could pose several various impacts on residents and communities. However, the government could take steps to deal with this problem. Regarding individual perspectives, the seniors would perceive a positive effect. Because those have more invaluable periods to enjoy comfortable life after a long time with a hectic schedule, making fortunes, and bringing up children. Meanwhile, this tendency has negative consequences for society. Under this circumstance, society takes responsibility for medical support and refunding pensions for those who are retired. In other words, the demand for healthcare would rise and young adults would have to look after elderly relatives. Thus, the higher proportion of retired people, the greater the tax burden on working adults. Nevertheless, these tensions can be mitigated thanks to government actions. Firstly, the authority could increase the retirement age for working adults. It means that people may have to retire later and the state pension age would rise. The second one is increased populations. The citizens should be encouraged to have more children and the government could encourage immigration to increase the number of younger laborers. Finally, the government should focus on medical advances that allow elderly people to stay healthy and work longer. In conclusion, although the ageing population could bring merit to individuals, this has potential hazards to society. The government plays a vital role in addressing these problems.