Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world.

Museums and art galleries have played a major role in preserving and conveying historical values for a long time. While many people suggest that they should focus purely on displaying works that represent the nation’s culture and history, others with contradicting views affirm that international works are also of great worth. Personally, I think both viewpoints are equally valid. On the one hand, there are reasons why it is believed that artifacts and works of national value should be given priority. Firstly, museums and art galleries should be places that honor indigenous history and culture. By going to these museums and galleries, people will gain a deeper understanding of their nation, along with the golden ages and hard times that the country has been through. The exhibitions therefore serve an educational purpose as they instill patriotism and promote a sense of national pride in the citizens of that country. Apart from that, such places also help to preserve traditional and historical values. In the 21st century, many minority ethnic groups are in grave danger of losing their culture, and therefore, the display of their works and artifacts will help to preserve their culture and the cultural diversity of a nation. On the other hand, showing international works of art has several merits. Works from other parts of the world help to diversify the content of museums and art galleries. Admittedly, even though the value of museums and art galleries cannot be denied, their failure in adopting changes and updating collections has discouraged people from visiting these places. For that reason, international works will add appeal and aid museums and galleries in attracting more visitors. Furthermore, if museums display international works, people will have more chance to gain knowledge and insight into other cultures as well. In conclusion, the ultimate goal of museums and galleries is to spread knowledge and wonder far and wide. Therefore, my suggestion is that local artifacts and works should be prioritized, while those of other nations can still be exhibited but in separate museums and galleries.