Nowadays, people are getting married in their thirties, unlike many years ago when people got married in their twenties. Is this a positive or negative development?

Marriage is considered an important event in everyone’s life. Years back, marrying before thirty was the trend but these days, people are now getting married at age thirty and above. I believe it is a positive development. The reasons for my opinion will be discussed below. I completely support people getting married at the age of thirty and above because marriage requires matured minds. Life experiences are what build maturity in a person. Before submitting to marriage, one has to give some time to gain experiences in dealing with people, especially the opposite sex. For example, my eldest cousin married at the age of twenty-three while the wife was nineteen. Three years into the marriage, they got divorced. It was obvious they lacked some life experiences before getting married as they were always having a series of quarrels, which was not resolved maturely. Another reason why I am of the opinion that individuals should get married at the age of thirty and above is that it gives them time to achieve goals. Most married couples find it difficult to achieve some of their dreams because of the responsibilities that come with marriage. For instance, a friend of mine enrolled for her master’s degree while single. Then marriage happened when she was twenty-two, followed by pregnancy. She could not continue her program because she needed to take care of her home. Had it been she waited a little longer, she would have been able to complete her program, get married afterward, and feel a better sense of success. In conclusion, I agree with the view that says tying the knots at thirsty and above is a positive development because marriage requires life experiences and it gives time to achieve most goals.