Nowadays people are affected by social media and the internet. Is it a good or a bad trend in your opinion? Explain it by giving your own example

Having an online presence on social media platforms has a significant impact on people's lives. Even though there are some unfavourable results associated with some social websites, people's lives have certainly improved since the advent of these tools. This essay will discuss how online social networks contribute to a more fulfilling life experience by expanding people's horizons and connecting them to each other. To begin with, with the advances of technology and the internet, people have gained access to an array of useful resources, which they can rely on for gaining insight. On the one hand, as a result of the continuous development of technology, a plethora of content is created and shared, allowing everyone to find information on the topics they are curious about as long as they have access to the internet. Such availability of references has revolutionized our general knowledge level since we are no longer limited by our physical location in our quest for a deeper understanding. For instance, if someone needs to gain more insight into the inner workings of the mind, they can simply log on to any search engine and have the latest findings of neuroscience at their fingertips. Owing to the internet, we are now able to acquire information from different sourcesregardless of where we live. What is more, with the advent of web-based communication applications it is becoming easier for everyone to stay in touch with their loved ones, who might live miles away. It is needless to say that social bonds are crucial to mental health. However, at times people cannot have nurturing relationships in their immediate environment. In such cases, being able to connect with others via the internet leads to less sense of isolation. For example, if one moves away from their hometowns in search of a better career, they might not have a circle of friends whom they can talk to. The messaging and video calling features that are made possible by the internet allows such individuals to share their life with their families back home and hence prevent loneliness. Therefore, the internet can improve our emotional health by enabling us to communicate with those we love. All in all, the influence of cyberspace on the users' lives is undeniable. Yet its consequences and whether they are positive or negative, are not as straightforward. This essay elaborated on the favourable influence of the online environment on everyone's lives, namely optimal information distribution and sustained human connection. From my point of view, despite being a double-edged sword, the internet has improved individual's lives by allowing them to access better sources of information as well as talk to other people.