It is argued that having high school students volunteer for activities that make the community a better place should be a mandatory part of the education system.

It is argued that having high school students volunteer for activities that make the community a better place should be a mandatory part of the education system. I whole-heartedly support this notion and believe that such activities are incredibly beneficial in the sense that they help high schoolers become responsible and fulfilled adults in the future. Firstly, inasmuch as high school students, these days, spend their time only on the activities that serve their interests, it is necessary to encourage them to take on responsibilities that impact other people as well. This way, they learn how to be responsible for other beings and become familiar with the challenges that society faces. For instance, if they were in charge of a small neighborhood’s sanitation for a week, they would understand how hard it is to keep a public place clean. As a result, they would consider it a civic duty to help keep the environment clean. Secondly, if done right, such educational programs create a sense of fulfillment. In other words, having done a task successfully boosts self-esteem and improves people’s outlook on life. Many people who have done voluntary work believe that the feeling one gets after helping a person in need is second to none. Therefore, I believe that introducing students to charity work could help them find ways to add more meaning to their lives and consequently turn such activities into their habit. In conclusion, making community service a requirement in high school education ensures that future generations will understand the true meaning of responsibility and contribution.