Nowadays, parents and children are not as close as they used to be 20 years ago.

Parents and children are drifiting apart from each other with passage of time. This essay will explore how busy routines of parents and modern technology are the root causes of this concern, and how through improved work-life balance and moderate use of electronic gadgets, this issue can be curtailed to a large extent. There are myriad causes of weak relationship between children and parents. Firstly, hectic professional lives are to blame. As parents, who spend most of their time working, do not have enough time to spend with their children and develop a bond. For instance, in South Korea people on average work for 12 to 14 hours a day and they do not have sufficient time for children. Hence, busy routines are responsible for this growing concern. Secondly, modern technology is also reason for estranged children. As most people prefers to spend their free time on mobile phones using social media. This fact can be better illustrated by the example of a research pudlished in American Journal of Psychology, which suggests that the relationship among parents and children has become weaker after smart phones became popular. Thus, modern technology is taking a toll on family lives. However, there are certain viable measures, that can be taken to curb this issue. The primary solution I believe would be to develop a daily routine to allocate significant time for family. As a deep bond between children and their parents can be developed by valuable moments spent together. Furthermore, another effective solution would be a justified use of cellular phones. As extensive use of these devices is wasting time. To sum-up, even though use of smart phones is widespread and most people do not have the luxury of leisure time, but I believe through sparing some time for family life and reducing the use of electronic gadgets, this problem can be tackled to a large extent.