Nowadays online shopping is becoming more and more popular. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In recent times, shopping from websites is becoming increasingly popular. This essay will discuss its advantages like convenience, cost, safety and variety along with disadvantages like lack of quality guarantee and errors in transactions. The main advantage of online shopping is its convenience. Customers can shop from any location, save on time and effort, and get products delivered at their desired location. Secondly, online platforms provide a wide variety of items and several offers making it more affordable than offline shopping. In light of the pandemic, websites have also allowed people to continue shopping without risking exposure to the virus. For these reasons, Amazon reported a 105% increase in customers during the Covid pandemic. However, there are a few drawbacks as well. First off, sellers on websites do not guarantee the quality of their merchandise. Therefore customers cannot check the product for its design, texture and manufacturing defects before purchase. For example, when buying clothes, people often end up being dissatisfied with its color, fabric or sizing. Additionally, there can sometimes be errors during the payment process leading to customers losing their money before the order is confirmed. Furthermore, some merchants only allow replacements and not returns and refund. In conclusion online shopping is safer, more convenient and saves on effort, time and money. But, the lack of quality assurance and possibility of losing money in erroneous transactions are serious demerits. Hence it seems to have more advantages than disadvantages and is going to continue growing in this age of the internet.