Nowadays online education has become popular as more institutes and companies are offering courses online. However, many people prefer the traditional, classroom training or study. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Teaching ways are changing due to development of technology every year. Most of schools and corporations prefer online learning which can be called as Teaching from Distance (TFD) day by day. Although many people do not prefer TFD because of lack of experimental learning and less social life, this essay supports the idea that, benefits of TFD are overweigh the disadvantages in terms of lower cost to study and having the chance of lesson recordings. It is known that, cost of living in big cities are huge nowadays and people spend huge amount to transportation, food and other expenses while studying. In online education, almost all this expenses are not exist because people do not have to pay transportation, and also they prefer to cook their meals by themselves. If we check these expenses in year, it is obvious that students pay at least 20% for learning purposes. Also TFD provides students to reach lessons whenever they want thanks to records. To give an example, my university has changed its teaching way to TFD last year, and I saved 200 TL in each month, and had a chance of record my lessons, so I both saved money and created more free time for myself. Even though the benefits of TFD are impressive, many people are opposing to online education because they believe students do not have chance to have experiments for hands-on lessons and lack of social life in this situation. It is discussed that, the most common issue for TFD is students can not try out the lessons which are teaching as theoretically in practical ways. For example, for engineering students, practical learning is critical in machine elements course because students might forget the course contents in years if they do not had experiments on courses and it can affect them in a negative way when they become engineers in factories. To conclude, benefits of online learning are overweigh the disadvantages because people spend less money in web-based education and they have chance to record the lessons to work on them later.