Nowadays, older people who need employment have to compete with younger people. What problem does this cause and what are the solutions.

Recently, it has been difficult for elderly persons to find jobs, and this is because most of the employers tend to hire employees from young age. The reasons behind this will be discussed in the following lines along with some of effective mesaures which can be taken to mitigate this issue. The first significant factor is technological advancements. The young generation is well versed with all inventions which have improved the work qualilty. They can use various applications easily such word, excel and outlook which are integral part of any business. In contrast, old people, who may have more experince, can not use these kind of softwares. In addition, they sometimes refuse to learn them. According to a study conducted by Cairo University, 80 % employees of age 45 and above, do not know how to use computers. This is why companies prefer to hire only youth individuals especially fresh graduates. Despite all of this, there are several actions that governments can take to eradicate this problem. One possible solution is to give free computer courses to people aged 45 and above. This will give them better chances to get jobs; in other words, it is high likely that they get job offer with a good pay. Another solution to consider is to give incentives to business which hire certain numbers of elderly people. This might motivate them to hire these special people. In conclusion, it is a fact that older generation suffer from a lack of work opportunities. However, this issue can be tackled by many ways, but this requires also the cooperation between business and authorities. .