Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

Nowadays many countries are already following car-free day once every year, however I am of opinion that banning motor vehicles on the road atleast for one day every month will be quite beneficial for human beings and the environment. Firstly this essay will discuss the advantages of this approach and then will argue why the drawbacks hold little significance. To embark upon, there are various advantages of organizing car-fee day. Since there will be no vehicles on the street this will help in reducing detrimental gases in the ecosystem. Pollution in the air will be decreased which benefits the surroundings. Furthermore it will also encourage the individuals for walking or cycling if they have to travel for short distance. For instance, Japan government motivates their citizens to follow a car-free day once every month which results in controlling the pollution effectively in their country. In addition to this, it would also benefit in reducing the traffic conjunction and noise pollution within the countries, which helps in avoiding road accidents. Most of the outdoor parking can be converted into green space where people can socialize and relax. For example, it has been observed that the state authority of Maharashtra conduct this event quite frequently and this assists them to manage their traffic smoothly. On the other hand, one of the disadvantages is that a person who has to do a long distance journey will face some challenges. Comfort level will be missing which every person gets in their own car. Pressure in public transportation will increase and it will take more time for every individual to reach their destination then usual. To illustrate, in many rural parts of India the public is suffering for better transport facilities. In conclusion, it can be argued that though there are disadvantages for people up-to certain extent but the advantages outweigh the disadvantages since this benefits both the citizens and the environment in the long run.