Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments should allocate money on railways instead of roadways. This essay partially agrees to this statement because, although government’s money could be beneficial for the railways to provide safe and comfortable journey for the passengers, roads must be funded more in order to reduce the incidences of road traffic crisis. To begin with, railways must be funded by the government because most of the passengers in developing nations travel to their work place through rail route on a regular basis mainly to reach the destination at accurate time without unnecessary traffic issues. So, the commuters should be provided with proper facilities which are more comfortable and safer; and the ability to reach their work areas on appropriate time. For instance, a recent survey conducted among employees in an “Information Technology” sector in India stated that around 60% of workers maintain their punctuality mainly due to preferring railways as their regular mode of transportation and this route maintains better amenities to be safe and secured. In contrast, roads must be given more importance in government’s funding because the incidences of road traffic crisis are increasingly popular among all ages. If government invest more money in proper construction of roads, then the probabilities of accidents would be reduced to some extent and minimise congestion. To illustrate, although China is the most populated country, the incidences of road traffic issues are extremely less when compared to other developed nations. The main reason for this improvement is due to the government’s investment on construction of separate pathways for two-wheelers and four-wheelers. This development eventually reduced road traffic accidents. To conclude, though railways offer better comfort and security for the passengers, government should allocate more money on roadways to reduce road traffic crisis. In future, the incidences of death rate would be cut down to half if more money is funded for roadways.