Nowadays museum and historical sites are visited mainly by foreign tourists rather than by locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more often?

It has raised public concern over the past decades why overseas visitors are more enthusiastic for visiting museums and historical places compared with locals? There are numerous reasons for this problem and some measures can be taken to stimulate more local inhabitants to visit museums and historical places. First of all, from an economic perspective, the people who live in the host country are engaged with some financial issues find it difficult to pay costs of entrance, therefore they prefer spend leisure time with alternative entertainments. Indeed, for these people, the necessities of life overrides the important of obvious the historical places. Although this amount might be favorable for the tourists who choose to travel and they are willing to pay this expense. Secondly, notwithstanding the fact that these places are very worthwhile, indigenous people are less likely to allocate their time for visiting the place that they have already known. In other words, these sites can be found more repetitive and tedious for local people. Despite this, attendance of local people could be encouraged in a variety of ways. First and foremost, governments should raise public awareness about the importance of these locations. Veritably, museums and historical buildings should be taken into consideration as a part of one’s cultural heritage that are passed down from their ancestors. Government’s authorities, For instance, could held cultural festivals and events in these locations and at the result people find these places more enjoyable and attractive. Furthermore, devoting discount on entrance price or allocate free tickets to local people and particularly children for visit heritage sites in a regular basis. From what have been discussed above, we may conclude that the less public awareness about valuable historical places and financial issues result in reduction in number of local visitors over against foreign visitors. Although if the solution mentioned above are implemented, all people are more likely to be encouraged to visit these sites.