Nowadays, most people pay little attention to the real meaning of many celebrations, due to a growing focus on spending money on gifts. What are the negative aspects of this and what can be done to minimise the bad effect.

In the current world, people have the tendency to disregard the true value of celebrations. The standard of living is becoming higher and higher which can lead to a growing trend observed in recent times that people pay more attention to high-priced presents. In this essay, I will discuss the down side of the overwhelmed focus on gifts and propose some measures to diminish the drawbacks. Gifts are commonly regarded as the heart of the senders. However, some people exaggerate the price of these presents and make it become a financial burden for others. Those who have a low level of income feel uncomfortable attending luxury parties as they feel obliged to contribute large sums on their gifts. Moreover, giving an expensive present also shows off one’s status. Many people believe that more money they spend on the gifts, more respected they can be. In addition, the receivers also feel unpleasant when they are given a high-priced thing and expected to give another gift of equal value. People tend to break their budgets during holidays and special occasions such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Therefore, it’s essential to lessen the spending on expensive gifts. Buying presents on sale is an economical way to purchase good quality things without having to pay too much money. Another way to find gifts fitting a small budget is to make handmade gifts. DIY presents are sometimes more special than others because they show sincerity of the senders. In addition, it is not only necessary to change the way of spending, but also to change the way of thinking. The emphasis on true feelings is crucial to focus on, not on the problem of money. One’s appearance in every party with heartfelt love deserves more respect than any high price gifts. This also reflects that the value of real friends is worth a thousand times more than that of presents. All things considered, wasting too much money on gifts without showing consideration for the true meaning of the celebrations has brought about many disadvantages. Therefore, a gift with a reasonable price will help both sender and receiver feel more comfortable.