Nowadays, more people watch sport on TV rather than play it. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that there are an increase in number of people choosing to watch sport on television instead of playing it. This essay will think that the negative and positive effects of this phenomenol are in equal measure. On the one hand, watching sport on TV can be advantageous, for reasons related to enhancing connectivity and encouraging people to play sports. With regard to the former, families who share the same interest in sport can choose to spend their quality time and relax for watching sports on television with each other. Some sports are played on holidays and weekend, and therefore, contributes to bringing families together and enhancing interaction between family members. Moreover, people can expand their social circle by watching sports with others who also follow the same sport team. The second point is that when people who have watched and attracted by some particular sports, they might be more likely to get out and play sports themselves. In the long run, they will take that sport as a needed exercise, which can get them to be more active and healthier, especially to the youngsters. This tendency of watching sports, nevertheless, could be considered from the opposite angle in terms of people's health and weath inquality. Chief among these is that if people spend too much time for watching TV, which also means they sit down for long time, this can lead to some health's risk of sedentary lifestyle. According to some expert opinions, every two additional hours people spent watching TV, a person's risk of death from heart disease and diabetes will rise significantly. As far as the second idea is concerned, a large number of views frequently can lead to players being given enormous salaries, thereby increasing income disparity among athletes in different sports and social envy. This may be considered bad for society, particularly when certain sport stars with such income behave badly in public places or on social media, which can negatively influence to people who look up to them, especially the young. To summarise, the trend of watching sports on TV rather than playing it will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals.