Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

We spend a large part of our daily life talking with other people and technological developments have influenced our socialization behaviours. Nowadays, the majority of people tend to communicate with each other remotely rather than person to person. I believe that it will make us more isolated and alone in the near future so it seems mostly disadvantageous but there are some advantages. In the past, people chose to keep in touch with each other face to face. Many believed that gathering in a cafe or a park was better than talking on the phone because it gave them happiness due to sociability. For instance, phones weren’t smart a few years ago, now it has changed significantly. Technological advancements have affected our life directly. Even though some people complain about negative effects, it is so precious to communicate with relatives who live abroad or in distant cities. However it comes with a price and that is a good wifi connection and relevant devices such as computers, tablets or smartphones, which are essentials. Considering the current economic and social disturbance, affording the cost of the internet and required devices has become much more challenging for low income people. In today’s world, online applications are not only used for social life, more and more people tend to use them to ease their lives. Furthermore, social media offers a lot of experiences and it is an enjoyable way to know others' lives. For example, you can grab a coffee, cuddle on the coach in your pyjamas then you can stalk everybody and message with your acquaintances. Fundamentally, distance intercommunication contributes flexibility for people. There is no need to be stuck in a place so you can talk or listen to anybody whenever you want. It is a good way to save your money as well as you save your valuable time. That said, if the issue is important, I prefer talking in person that is better. On top of that, socialization is essential for children who need to play with their peers. However, social media and online video applications have impacted teenagers in their early lives. In conclusion, online conversation has many benefits but also it includes many drawbacks. Youngsters need to be more social and it is possible that they will gather in a place again. Indeed, because of the pandemic, all of us have to prefer online ways to communicate with others.