Nowadays more and more teenagers take a gap year before they enter university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Recently, taking a year off before entering university has become more and more popular. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages of this trend. There are several benefits of taking a gap year. To begin with, many teenagers take a gap year because they want to have time to relax. They might travel around the world, meet new people, enrich their knowledge about a new culture. Traveling is also a good chance for them to improve their language skills, you can learn language from school but it is more awesome if you have a chance to live up the language. Not only do they travel but also do volunteer work. By doing voluntary work, they can feel more grateful, comfortable and happier. Another benefit which is worth mentioning is that a gap year gives you an opportunity to do a part-time job by joining a realistic working environment. Spending time to figure out what you are good at, what your passion is, and where your talents are. Making some new friends and broadening your horizon about something related to your future career or your study. All of those things just make your life meaningful, become a motivation, help you learn more effectively and improve your academic performance. However, taking a gap year can be disadvantageous in several ways. One of the drawbacks which should be considered is that some teenagers may waste their time in video games, watching TV or just sleeping all day. This makes them forget their knowledge, left behind, turn down and become a gloomy person. The other disadvantage is that you may get shocked if you begin to work. It is totally different from going to school, you may have to fake your smile, obey your boss, and get exhausted by your co-workers. These bad experiences may make you afraid of starting again. The result is that you can not find a job or do anything helpful for your community. In conclusion, taking a gap year has both advantages and disadvantages but it all depends on your choice and your attitude to everything you have to face. So let’s take a deep breath before making a decision and just enjoy it.