Nowadays more and more people prefer to wear fashionable clothes. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent decades, there has been a lot of advancement in the fashion industry which has also attracted different age groups to indulge in fashion. Hence, the number of people wearing fashionable clothes have increased. Although this has been seen as a positive impact, there are certain drawbacks that I would like to highlight in this essay. First and the foremost reason is the rise of fashionable clothing has no bars on how much people are spending. As we know the fashion materials are very expensive and come from various designer brands, such clothing costs thousands of dollars. Because it has become very popular to wear fashionable clothing, people are not mindful of where their money is going. For instance, people buy branded clothes to look good which usually costs one of their paychecks. Therefore, it is also necessary to curb your spendings on such unuseful materials which is also available in an affordable range. Secondly, people have started believing that if they dress up well, it improves their self-esteem. For example, people wear professional outfits at work so that they look good and presentable. Such clothing helps them to feel confident while presenting themselves to other people. Besides, this has not only seen in working-class people but also seen in youngsters and elders. As a result, such thinking has changed people into false believing of performing well in their field. To conclude, even though people have accepted this change positively, it is vitally important to create a balance between their affordability and unnecessarily spending. Likewise, they should not be emotionally relying on their clothing for their self-confidence.