Nowadays, more and more people prefer supermarkets rather than local markets. why it this happening? it is a positive or negative trend. give your opinion.

In these days, choice for departmental stores have proliferated among individuals and only handful of people are attracted by shops of their locality due to various reasons. I personally feel that it is postive as well as passive trend. There are countless reasons for increasing preference of people towards large retailing. Firstly, these markets provide goods under one roof with low cost as wide variety of goods are available to customers at one place having discounts and offers and articles are kept on racks with labelled price and quality of every product, so it is good source of consumer attraction. That's why a big chunk of people visit these shops. Apart from these causes, it has further given way to some positive trends. The first considerable point is that side residents dont have to sacrifice with regard to quality, whether the commodities are economical but these stores provide the branded and high quality products as compared to residential shops that deals with low quality goods. For instance, the survey conducted by food corporation to check quality of goods at hypermarkets and shops of locality in India. Megastores proved to be of high quality as compared to residential shops. Hence, it has proved beneficial for people. Nevertheless, despite of positive outcomes, it gives way to some negative effects. Firstly, uneducated person are not only unable to read the labelled stuff, but also checking price is major concern among them. Due to lack of guidance by anyone, they are not able to make accurate choice for themselves at supermarkets, however local shopkeepers guide them about the features and quality of product personally and they are able to purchase best one for them. Hence these retail outlets are passive outcomes in case of personal attention. To conclude, all the superstars surpass the local shops in qualitative and quantitative aspects but the local markets have their own significance.