NOWADAYS, MORE AND MORE PEOPLE DECIDE TO HAVE CHILDREN LATER IN THEIR LIFE. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF THİS TREND OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

In recent days, starting a family later has become an increasingly popular trend. Although it brings many advantages there are major drawbacks like having less healthy birth and age gaps. This essay will discuss that its drawbacks outweigh its benefits. To begin with, modern people think that they prefer to focus on having an enviable career instead of becoming parents too soon in their life. The young generation are aware of the opportunity of quality life and they have ambitions for achieving the higher positions in their company and in their social life. In other words, they don’t approach to split their time for having a baby. Besides, when the young people get married, they are already in their mid-thirties and they take some time to settle and have some financial stability before having their first child. Giving birth brings along some financial burden and it’s not convenient for people who haven't any psychological preparation. However, this tendency can bring many negative effects to both family life and society. Firstly, raising a child could be more challenging for older people than younger individuals. The gap between two generations might make them hard to understand and communicate with each other and these circumstances cause them to become distant. Secondly, the rate of having healthy babies is inversely proportional to the increased age of parents. According to recent surveys, it’s more risky than getting birth in youth despite some exceptions. In conclusion, there are reasonable causes why people prefer to have a child later in their life. Nevertheless, people should be warned about some healthy and psychological troubles for social wealth.