Some school children buy healthy food from the school cafeteria. However, some buy unhealthy food. What are the reasons for both these situations? Should schools be allowed to sell unhealthy food?

These days, the colossal upsurge in the purchasing of meals by school pupils from their learning premises is quite alarming. While some school of thought agrees that students buy healthy cuisine from their colleges due to the laid down regulations, others are of a contrary opinion with the reason that demands are too high. In my opinion, I disagree that learning institutions should provide poorly cooked dishes because it could result in adverse consequences on learners. To begin, it is believed by some that the major reason for selling good consumables in schools is because of the viable policies. These laws are structured to protect the learners and even better image of the school. For example, according to an undergraduate of the food technology department, in the University of Ibadan, 70% of schools have food test experts among teachers and prefects in order to ensure vendors follow hygienic procedures. However, others feel that few colleges such as public schools in Nigeria, still allow less hygienic dishes because of the overpopulation of students. When demands are higher than supply and the available resources of the sellers, they opt for measures that would allow them to make more money, thereby reducing the food quality and hygienic procedures. More so, some of these students cannot afford to pay more to get a better meal. Personally, I believe that poorly prepared cuisines would result in disastrous effects on the kids. Sicknesses such as Cholera, Typhoid and even diarrhoea are the end product of poorly prepared dishes, which may not only affect student study inthe academy but also their overall academic performance. For example, findings from a Food expert at Indomie Company last year, has established that about 60% of teenagers illnesses are as a result of unhealthy foods. Overall, eateries in studying environments are the major sources of children's meals during institute hours. Although, some of them buy bad consumables due to overcrowding and financial issues, others get ideal cuisines resulting from beneficial food-laws. I completely agree that all colleges should intensify efforts towards providing healthy substances for their wards in other to breed healthy and academically sound minds.