Nowadays, more and more people choose to do their shopping online instead of going to physical stores. Why is this so? What are the disadvantages of this trend?

These days, numerous people opt for purchasing products through online platforms rather than buying at local stores. In my opinion, there are a variety of reasons that they choose shopping online; however, it can bring a number of adverse impacts. Gradually, citizens prefer to buy items online as there are a huge selection and variety of products that they can choose in a single platform. They can install shopping apps on their mobile phone and easily purchase the products anywhere at the convenience of not going to stores physically. Moreover, it is more favorable to find rare items online and can be delivered to your doorsteps with a simple press on the app. Furthermore, there is no need to concern about standing and queuing at your favorite stores during peak hours. However, the items can be damaged and can be delayed through shipping problems as the weather and the transportations can be changed. Additionally, having the products packed in several layers and cardboard packaging can affect the environment in a way that can create unnecessary waste. Furthermore, there is a larger risk of fraud like credit card scams, phishing, hacking and identity thefts if the person is not vigilant enough to address the issue. Lastly, people would not know exactly what they are getting unless they are familiar with the brands, and they might end up getting items that are imprecise, unfitted and different from the appearance on the screen. Overall, in my opinion, purchasing online can make people lives easy and convenient but the adverse outweighs the beneficial one as you cannot feel and test the products physically. Therefore, people should consider getting the items in person so that they will be able to determine the quality of the products without wasting money.