Nowadays more and more people are spending less time at home. Why do you think it happens? What effect does this have on individuals and the society?

Most people spend more their time outside rather than indoors. This is mainly because of longer working hours and emphasizing individualism. This has a negative impact on a lack of communication between family members, but it also have a positive impact on society such as boosting the economy. People are working longer hours than ever before and they do not have time to spend at home. Some people do not only work overtime on weekdays, but also work on weekends. This is because the world has become borderless due to the development of means of transportation and the Internet, and competition among companies has become intense. For example, one of my friends who work in IT company, catches the first train to go to company in the morning and take the last train to get home after work. He spends only six hours at home, leaving less time for family. Thus, people who live in such a global society, spend most of time at their workplace. Another reason for spending less time at home is that the importance of individualism is increasing. People value pursuing their own goals and dreams. Chasing our dream often investing more of our time in study or work. For example, my friend’s son who want to be a lawyer in the future spend most of his time studying at school. Studying at school until 10: 00p. m. , he eats out with friends every day. This often results in spending less time at home because they put more value on fulfilling their own dream. The decrease in time spent at home has both positive and negative effects, including an increase in family lacking communication and economic expansion. Regarding negative impacts on individuals, family conversations may decrease since they do not have enough time to spend together. In some cases, it leads to divorce and juvenile delinquency. However, there are also some positive effects. As people spend more time outside, they have more opportunities to spend money, which has an economic effect. Some people would eat out, others would spend money learning new things. In this way, less time people spend at home has both positive and negative effects on individuals and society. In conclusion, people spend less time at home due to an increased workload and individualism. As it has both positive and negative impacts on our life, there is a need for us to be conscious about finding a healthy balance between the time spent at home and outside.