Nowadays more and more older people, who are looking for work, compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

It is considered that currently growing competition in a workplace is prevalent between young and old employees. This essay will focus on the main reasons of this issue comprising of high unemployment rates and technological illiteracy of adults, which can be tackled by providing better job prospects and training courses. To begin with, increased work competition amongst both young and old generations accounted for an upward trend in the joblessness of people. Since the working population will face with the risk of redundancy if the workplace restructures, downsizes or outsources its workforce, employees are more willing to preserve their job position by contesting with others. For example, the majority of people in India is redundant. One of the feasible solutions to this problem is to encourage greater job opportunities. If the government subsidized on ensuring more job places, there would like to be low rates of unemployment. Secondly, due to the technological advancement more jobs are becoming technology-focused, therefore employers find out younger generation more well-qualified and knowledgeable in comparison with old groups. For instance, the recent research indicated that there might be more automation of jobs. However, the competitiveness will arise further because adults believe that traditional methods will not be replaced. The measure to take is that authorities can offer ongoing trainings to old workers in order to boost their technological literacy. This results in enhancing career progression and performance of adults at work environment. To sum up, the problem of high work competition of old and young generations because of substantial unemployment proportion and lack of knowledge of adults about modern technology could be solved by suppling workers with better job prospects and teaching old employees how to apply electronic devices.